Creating Communities. Connecting People
Welcome, Guest      Bookmark and Share
Tell a friend about this site Invite    
Best Canadian Music - RSS feed - Add to Google

Tue, Jun 26th - 4:36AM

Hall of Fame - Shania Twain

Shania Twain was born Eileen Regina Edwards in Windsor, Ontario. She was raised by her mother Sharon and Ojibwa stepfather Jerry Twain in Timmins where she began performing as a child, singing in local clubs, on radio, and on television. When Twain was 21, both of her parents were killed in an car crash. Twain supported her younger siblings for three years by working as a singer in a resort in Deerhurst, Ontario. In the early 1990s Twain signed a record contract with Mercury Records and adopted the Ojibwa name Shania.

Her self-titled debut in 1993 had modest success in North America. Shortly thereafter, Twain met Robert John "Mutt" Lange, a record producer known for his work with rock bands such as AC/DC, Def Leppard, Foreigner, and The Cars. They began a professional association that became a romantic relationship, and the two married in 1994. Twain and Lange wrote the material on Twain's next release, The Woman in Me(1995) that sold more than 6 million copies and had four hit singles, including "Whose Bed Have Your Boots Been Under?" and "Any Man of Mine.".

Come On Over followed in 1997, producing such hits as "That Don't Impress Me Much," "Man! I Feel Like a Woman," and "From This Moment On." It has sold more than 40 million copies worldwide and is the ninth best-selling album in the U.S. Her fourth album, Up!, was released in November 2002. To date it has sold 20 million copies worldwide.

Shania Twain was inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame in 2011.

Comment (0)

Wed, Jun 20th - 4:44AM

Prairie Wind

Neil Young
Reprise 2005

Prairie Wind was the 28th studio album by Neil Young. It features an acoustic-based sound reminiscent of his earlier commercially successful albums Harvest and Harvest Moon. The album was in part inspired by the illness and recent death of his father, Canadian sportswriter and novelist Scott Young.

The album debuted on the Billboard 200 album chart at number 11 and remained on the chart for 26 weeks. Prairie Wind received two Grammy Award nominations at the 2008 Grammy Awards - Best Rock Album of the Year and Best Rock Solo Performance for the single The Painter.

Comment (0)

Thu, Jun 14th - 4:34AM

All the Right Reasons

Roadrunner 2005

Nickelback is from Hanna, Alberta and was formed in 1995. It has released 7 studio albums.

All the Right Reasons was their 5th album and the 3rd straight to be number 1 in Canada. It debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200 chart and has sold more than 11 million copies worldwide.

The album has spawned five top twenty Hot 100 singles in the U.S. - "Photograph", "Savin' Me", "Far Away", "If Everyone Cared" and "Rockstar". It was ranked #13 on Billboard's 200 Albums of the Decade.

Comment (0)

Fri, Jun 8th - 4:27AM

It's Time

Michael Buble
143 / Reprise 2005

Michael Steven Bublé was born in Burnaby B.C. and has sold more than 30 million albums worldwide.

His fourth studio album It's Time was hugely successful in Canada where it was certified 6× Platinum by the CRIA for sales of 600,000 copies. To date the album has sold 6 million units worldwide. Singles were "Feeling Good", "Home" and "Save the Last Dance for Me"

At the 2006 Juno's, the album won awards for Album of the Year and Pop Album of the Year, "Home" won for Single of the Year and Buble was named Artist of the Year.

Comment (0)

Sat, Jun 2nd - 3:45AM

Broken Social Scene

Broken Social Scene
Arts & Crafts 2005

Originally to be titled Windsurfing Nation Broken Social Scene's third studio album won the 2006 Juno for Alternative Album of the Year. It was also shortlisted for the 2006 Polaris Music Prize. The album reached the number one position on American college charts and received widespread critical acclaim in the U.K.

In addition to the musicians who contributed to the band's prior release You Forgot It in People, new contributors on Broken Social Scene include k-os, Jason Tait (The Weakerthans) and Murray Lightburn (The Dears). The album artwork was drawn by lead singer Kevin Drew.

Comment (0)

June 2012
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
prev   next

  • All Blogs
  • Messenger
  • Member Search
  • Who's Online
    WebRing Bloggers: 9271

    Members: 0
    Guests: 0

    Today: 3

  • Archives
    Recent Posts
    Jan 2013
    Oct 2012
    Sep 2012
    Aug 2012
    Jul 2012
    May 2012
    Apr 2012
    Mar 2012

    What's New | Popular | Auctions | Blogs | Webspace | Discuss | ShopDragon | Newsletter | Powered by R360 | Contact Us
    Copyright © 2001-2012 WebRing®, Inc. All rights reserved. Terms of Service - Help - Privacy Policy